
Important Tobacco  
Changes for 2024

g  Tobacco products may not be sold to any 
customer under the age of 21. 

g  A valid driver’s license or other valid 
government-issued ID are the only 
acceptable forms of identification for 
tobacco purchases (employer or school ID 
not permitted). 

g  Tobacco retailers are required to verify the 
age of all individuals under the age of 30 with 
a government-issued photo identification 
prior to selling any tobacco product, 
including ESDs.

g  Tobacco retailers are to keep all cigarettes, 
other tobacco products (OTP) (excluding 
premium cigars), and ESDs behind the 
counter in an area accessible only to the 
licensed retailer and employees.

g  Increase of licensing fees for tobacco 
retailers (cigarettes and ESD) from  
$25 to $300.

g  Increased penalties for tobacco retailers that 
violate state tobacco laws:

g Increase from $300 to $500 for first 
offense

g Allows the District Court to order the 
Executive Director of the Alcohol, 
Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission 
(ATCC) to suspend a license for up to 
90 days for a second violation, up to 
180 days for subsequent violations, 
and revoke the license for additional 
subsequent violations. This mandates 
the ATCC to take action based on the 
Court’s order following a conviction for 
these charges.

g Allows the clerk or the tobacco retailer 
to be directly cited for a violation.

g  Retailers are required to post new age of 
sale signs in their establishments stating, 
‘No person under the age of 21 may be sold 
tobacco products’

g  The Maryland Department of Health or 
its designees will conduct at least one 
inspection per licensed retailer per year.​
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Understanding the Impact of the  
Tobacco Retail Modernization Act
The Maryland Tobacco Retail Modernization Act of 2024 prohibits retailers 
from displaying cigarettes, other tobacco products, or electronic smoking 
devices for sale unless these items are located behind a counter. It mandates 
that licensed retailers verify an individual’s date of birth before selling these 
products. Additionally, the Act increases the application fee for a county license 
to sell cigarettes or tobacco products at retail. The ATCC, along with local health 
departments, is responsible for enforcing the provisions of this Act. Please 
review this document to ensure that your operations comply with the law.

Cigarette License
Authorizes the license to:
4  Sell cigarettes to consumers through vending machines on fewer than  

40 premises,

• The owner must have a county license for each vending machine.
4  Sell cigarettes to consumers, or holds cigarettes for sale to consumers,
4  Act as a retailer and buy stamped cigarettes from a subwholesaler  

or wholesaler.

Delivery Limitation:

4  May deliver no more than two cartons of cigarettes directly to a 
consumer if the delivery is made by the retailer or an employee.

New Excise Tax Rate: $5.00 for pack of 20 / $0.25 per cigarette in package.

Authorizes the license to:
4  Sell OTP to consumers
4  Buy OTP on which the tobacco tax has been paid from an OTP 

wholesaler, and
4  Buy premium cigars to pipe tobacco on which the tobacco tax has not 

been paid from an OTP manufacturer.

New Excise Tax Rate: 60% of the wholesale price of the tobacco products

Authorizes the license to:
4  Sell ESD to consumers,
4  Buy ESD from an ESD wholesaler distributor or ESD wholesaler importer,
4  If the retailer also holds a license to act as an ESD manufacturer they can sell 

retail ESD manufactured under the manufacturer license, and
4  Except as other prohibited or restricted under local law, distribute sample ESD 

to consumers.

Sales Tax Rate: 20% tax on ESDs and vaping liquid over 5 ml / 60% tax on 5 ml or less

OTP License (Other Tobacco Products)

ESD License (Electronic Smoking Devices)



Resources and Contacts

Maryland Department of Health (MDH)
The Maryland Department of Health (MDH) is 
responsible for preventing individuals under 21 
from accessing tobacco products by collaborating 

with partners and providing training and outreach to tobacco 
retailers. Through its responsible tobacco retailer program, 
MDH offers resources online and distributes annual toolkits 
to over 6,000 licensed retailers statewide.

Maryland Synar Reports
bit.ly/MDSynarReports

MDH Email Contact
mdh.tobaccosalestominors@maryland.gov 

Local Health Departments
Find your local health department contact information below:

Allegany 301-759-5000 bit.ly/allegany-health

Anne Arundel 410-222-7095 bit.ly/anne-arundel-health

Baltimore City 410-396-4398 bit.ly/baltimore-health

Baltimore 410-887-2243 bit.ly/baltimore-county-health

Calvert 410-535-5400 bit.ly/calvert-health

Caroline 410-479-8000 bit.ly/caroline-health

Carroll 410-876-2152 bit.ly/carroll-health

Cecil 410-996-5550 bit.ly/cecil-health

Charles 301-609-6900 bit.ly/charles-health

Dorchester 410-228-9319 bit.ly/dorchester-health

Frederick 301-600-1029 bit.ly/frederick-health

Garrett 301-895-3111 bit.ly/garrett-health

Harford 410-838-1500 bit.ly/harford-health

Howard 410-313-6300 bit.ly/howard-health

Kent 410-778-1350 bit.ly/kent-health

Montgomery 301-251-4850 bit.ly/montgomery-health

Prince George’s 301-883-7879 bit.ly/prince-georges-health

Queen Anne’s 410-758-0720 bit.ly/queen-annes-health

Somerset 443-523-1700 bit.ly/somerset-health

St. Mary’s 301-475-4330 bit.ly/st-marys-health

Talbot 410-819-5600 bit.ly/talbot-health

Washington 240-313-3200 bit.ly/washington-health

Wicomico 410-749-1244 bit.ly/wicomico-health

Worcester 410-632-1100 bit.ly/worcester-co-health

Tax Information for Tobacco Taxpayers
https://bit.ly/MDTobaccoTax

Maryland Comptroller Email Contacts:

General Information
taxhelp@marylandtaxes.gov 

Cigarette Stamps
cigarettestamps@marylandtaxes.gov 

Tobacco Tax
alcoholreturns@marylandtaxes.gov 

Office of the Comptroller of Maryland
The Comptroller of Maryland primarily focuses on 
ensuring compliance with laws related to the sale, 
distribution, and taxation of tobacco products. 

Tobacco Licensing or Permit Questions?
Contact us at 443-300-6990 or  
atcc.licensing@maryland.gov

Tobacco Industry FAQs
Read of FAQs to learn how the ATCC issues 
wholesaler and distributor Licenses.

Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and 
Cannabis Commission (ATCC) 
Maryland’s tobacco industry is governed by 
regulations to safeguard public health and 

ensure responsible trade. The ATCC regulates and enforces 
compliance among tobacco licensees, working with various 
agencies to prevent underage sales and ensure businesses 
follow state laws.

n The ATCC may deny, reprimand, suspend, or revoke a 
license, including retailer tobacco licenses.

n The ATCC oversees more than 6,000 Maryland tobacco 
retailers, conducting inspections, investigations, and 
enforcing regulatory compliance to ensure the safe sale 
and distribution of tobacco products. 
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