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To: All Cigarette Wholesalers, Subwholesalers,
Vending Machine Operators and Retail Dealers

Subject:

The 2007 Special Session of the Maryland
General Assembly enacted legislation signed by the
Governor raising the excise tax on cigarettes from $1.00
to $2.00 per pack of 20 effective January 1, 2008. The
new tax rate applies to all Maryland loose stamps, floor
stock and to all cigarettes in vending machines located
anywhere in Maryland on January 1.

Cigarette Tax Increase

At midnight, December 31, 2007 every pack of
cigarettes held for sale in the State of Maryland bearing
an excise tax stamp is subject to the additional tax. In
order to account for the additional tax, you must
complete an inventory of all affixed and unaffixed
Maryland excise tax stamps and remit the tax using the
enclosed Cigarette Floor Tax Return. Please read the
form carefully and complete it before moving or selling
any cigarettes on January 1, 2008. This report and the
additional tax due can be filed anytime after January 1,
but must be submitted no later than April 30, 2008.

The Comptroller’s office may elect to do a
physical inventory at selected wholesale accounts on or
about January 1. If you are selected, you will be notified
in advance by a representative of the Compliance
Division.

All cigarettes stamped on or after January 1,
2008, must be stamped with either an old stamp that has
been inventoried and listed on the Floor Tax Return or a
new stamp to evidence payment of the increased tax.
The new stamps will be available for purchase at the
new rate on or about December 20, 2007.

Cigarette wholesalers need to be aware that
they will need to proportionally increase their surety
bond if they wish to continue to have the ability to
purchase the same quantity of stamps on credit.
Failure to do so will necessitate stamp purchases by
cash for any purchase order in excess of a
wholesaler’s credit limit.

Vending machine operators must send a list of
all vending machines showing the location of machines
with the Floor Tax Return. The tax can be computed on
an actual physical inventory by machine or by paying a
flat tax assessment per machine as indicated on the
return.

All unsalable cigarettes must be returned to the
cigarette manufacturers before December 31, 2007. All
manufacturers have been notified of this requirement.

If you are a wholesaler or subwholesaler, we
will soon revise the “Cigarette Sales Below Act
Minimum Price Calculator” on our Web site at:
www.marylandtaxes.com/onlineservices. This calculator
with the new tax rate should be used effective January 1,
2008.

For more information on the Special Session, see
www.marylandtaxes.com. If you have any questions
regarding the tax increase, please contact Taxpayer
Services at (410) 260-7314 or (410) 260-7131. Thank you
for your cooperation.

Thad Russell, Director
MATT Regulatory Division

For the deaf and hard of hearing: TTY users call via Maryland Relay at 711 in Maryland or 1-800-735-2258 from elsewhere.
If you need a reasonable accommodation for a disability, please contact us before you visit. If you need the information in
this publication in an alternate format, contact the Comptroller’s Office.
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