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No. TT-34

May 10, 2002

TO: All Cigarette Wholesalers, Subwholesalers and Vending Machine Operators
SUBJECT: Cigarette Tax Increase

The 2002 Session of the Maryland General or about June 1. If you are selected, you will be
Assembly enacted legislation raising the excise tax notified in advance by a representative of the
on cigarettes from 66 cents to $1.00 per pack Compliance Division.
effective June 1, 2002, an increase of 34 cents per
pack of 20. The Governor is expected to sign this All cigarettes stamped on or after June 1, 2002
legislation shortly. The new tax rate applies to all must be stamped with either an old stamp that has
Maryland loose stamps, floor stock and to all been inventoried and listed on the Floor Tax Return
cigarettes in vending machines located anywhere in or a new stamp to evidence payment of the increased
Maryland on June 1. tax. The new stamps will be available for purchase at

the new rate on or about May 24, 2002.
On May 31, 2002 at midnight, every pack of

cigarettes held for sale in the State of Maryland Cigarette wholesalers need to be aware that they
bearing an excise tax stamp is subject to the will need to proportionally increase their surety bond
additional tax. In order to account for the additional ~  if they wish to continue to have the ability to purchase
tax, you must complete an inventory of all affixed the same quantity of stamps on credit. Failure to do
and unaffixed Maryland excise tax stamps and remit so will necessitate stamp purchases by cash for any
the tax using the enclosed Cigarette Floor Tax purchase order in excess of a wholesaler’s credit limit.
Return. Please read the form carefully and complete
it before moving or selling any cigarettes on June 1, Vending machine operators must send a list of
2002. We request that this report be mailed to our all vending machines showing the location of
Annapolis Office. This report and the additional tax ~ machines. The tax can be computed on an actual
due can be filed anytime after June 1, but must be physical inventory by machine or by paying a flat tax
submitted no later than September 30, 2002. assessment per machine as indicated on the returns.
The Comptroller’s office may elect to do a All unsalable cigarettes must be returned to the
physical inventory at selected wholesale accounts on  cigarette manufacturers before May 31, 2002. All
(over)
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manufacturers have been notified concerning this
requirement.

If you are a wholesaler or subwholesaler, we will
revise the “Cigarette Sales Below Cost Act Minimum
Price Calculator” which is available on our Web site at
http://compnet.comp.state.md.us/attd/. This
calculator with the new tax rate should be used effective

June 1, 2002.

Should you have any questions regarding the
above, please contact Ms. Michele Lindsay at (410)
260-7383. We ask for your usual cooperation to help

make this a smooth transition.

Charles W. Ehart, DPA
Director

Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Division



