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To: Persons desiring to bring alcoholic beveragesinto Maryland
Subject: Restrictionson importation of alcoholic beverages

Importation of alcoholic beverages into the state of
Maryland is generally prohibited by Maryland statute to all 4. Anindividual who is making a bona fide change of
persons, except commercial license or permit holders. There domicile into the state of Maryland may secure a Change of
are four exceptions to this rule, three in favor of touristsand  Domicile Permit, the fee for which is $5.00. Upon the
travelers and one for individuals making a bona fide change payment of the excise taxes provided by the statute (dis-
of domicile from a point outside the state of Maryland to a tilled spirits tax $1.50, wine $0.40 and beer $0.09 per
point within this state. The law defines “consumer” as a gallon respectively), the holder of a Change of Domicile
person who possesses alcoholic beverages for personal use Permit may ship into Maryland their private stock of
only. Alcoholic beverages include any alcoholic compound alcoholic beverages when such alcoholic beverages consti-
by whatever name known containing one-half of one percent  tute a normal part of personal household effects.
(1/2 of 1%) of alcohol by volume (one proof), which is fit for
beverage consumption. General Requirements

There are absolutely no other provisions of law for a
person who is not a commercial licensee to bring alcoholic
1. The Maryland statute provides that a consumer, twenty-  beverages into Maryland. Under no circumstances may a

Exceptions

one years of age or older, may personally bring into this consumer receive any quantity of alcoholic beverages that
state, for personal consumption only, one (1) quart of legally  is directly mailed or shipped from any source outside the
manufactured alcoholic beverages at any one time, but not state of Maryland.

more than two (2) quarts during any one calendar month.
No one may at any one time possess within this state more
than four (4) quarts of such alcoholic beverages.

A permit is required of any person carrying alcoholic
beverages, for personal or other use, through the state of
Maryland, except as provided in paragraphs 1, 2 and 3

2. A consumer twenty-one years of age or over shall be above. An Individual Transportation permit is available to
permitted to bring into the state of Maryland in possession individuals who can prove compliance with all require-
of and for personal use only, one (1) gallon of alcoholic ments of other affected jurisdictions.

beverages free of any tax imposed under the alcoholic
beverages laws, if the purchase was made in the Virgin
Islands of the United States, American Samoa or Guam.
Evidence of purchase must be in possession when returning
to the state of Maryland.

3. A consumer twenty-one (21) years of age or over shall

be permitted to bring into the state of Maryland from outside

the continental limits of the United States, in possession of

and for personal use only, no more than one (1) gallon of

alcoholic beverages, of which one (1) quart shall be free of

any tax imposed under the Alcoholic Beverage Laws. The

alcoholic beverage tax must be paid on any excess over one

(1) quart.
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