
Regulatory Authorities
In Maryland, the regulation and oversight of cannabis 
activities are divided between two main authorities:

Pending Litigation:  
Maryland Hemp Coalition v. Wes Moore, et al.

	� As of October 12, 2023, a Washington County 
Circuit Court Preliminary Injunction (Case No. 
C-21-CV-23-000348) halts certain cannabis reform 
provisions as applied to businesses operating lawfully 
before July 1, 2023.  

	� Please see ATCC Advisory 24-004 for further details.  Up 
to date litigation information is available through the 
Maryland Judiciary Case Search.

	� Please note, this does NOT apply to those who were 
not already lawfully selling hemp-derived products 
prior to July 1, 2023.
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The Maryland Cannabis 
Administration (MCA) 
oversees the licensed 
cannabis market.

The Maryland Alcohol, 
Tobacco, and Cannabis 

Commission (ATCC) 
enforces the laws related 

to unlicensed cannabis 
activities. 
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1215 East Fort Avenue, Suite 300 
Baltimore, MD 21230 

(443) 300-6990 
Maryland Relay 711  
TTY (410) 260-7157

849 International Drive,  
Linthicum, MD 21090

(410) 487-8100 or 1-844-421-2571 
Maryland Relay 711  

TTY (800) 735-2258

ADVISORY 24-004 
IS AVAILABLE ONLINE
If you would like to read the full 
advisory document, please scan  
the QR code or visit bit.ly/AD24004



	� Products containing more than 0.5 
milligrams of THC per serving OR 
2.5 milligrams of THC per package.

	� Approved THC products include 
Delta-8-THC, Delta-9-THC, or  
Delta-10-THC, and any cannabinoids 
causing intoxication. 

EXEMPTIONS 
Some hemp-derived products, like 
lotions and CBD-dominant edibles 
with trace amounts of THC can still 
be sold if they meet MCA testing 
and labeling 
standards. 

EXEMPT

COMPLIANCE
Businesses not holding an MCA cannabis 
license must remove prohibited products 
from their premises.

PENALTIES 
$5,000 
Misdemeanor and up to $5,000 
fine for selling a product with a 
THC concentration higher than 
0.5 mg per serving or 2.5 mg per 
package.

$10,000 
Misdemeanor and up to $10,000 
fine for selling any product that 
contains non-naturally occurring 
cannabinoids. 

Only businesses holding an 
MCA cannabis license can legally 
sell intoxicating cannabis/THC 
products in Maryland.

Unauthorized sales of intoxicating 
cannabis/THC products can result 
in criminal charges and fines. 

APPROVED FOR SALE BY MCA 
LICENSE HOLDERS ONLY

The following products for human 
consumption can ONLY be sold by 
MCA cannabis license holders:

SALES TO MINORS 
IS ILLEGAL 
No cannabis products are to 
be sold to minors under the 
age of 21. No Exceptions.

	� No MCA license needed to sell products 
LESS than .5 milligram of THC per serving 
and 2.5 millgrams of THC per package.

NOT ALLOWED 
Products containing non-naturally 
occurring cannabinoids, such as 
K2 or THC-O-acetate, may not be 
lawfully sold in Maryland regardless 
of licensure. 

SELL RESPONSIBLY:  
NO LICENSE,  
NO THC SALES

PRODUCT RESTRICTIONS


