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TO THE MARYLAND ALCOHOL, TOBACCO, AND CANNABIS COMMISSION:

Application is made by the undersigned under the provisions of the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages Article, for the 
class license indicated above, and the applicant(s) submit(s) and certify(ies) to the following information required by the article. 

Application may be made by any three officers, or three employees residing in this state, duly authorized by the corporation to apply 
for the license.

1. Applicants 1 2 3

Name

Residence

Home Phone

Date of Birth

Place of Birth

Social Security (*)

Title or Position 
held in Organization

MD Resident Since:

NOTE: Renewal applications must be received no later than March 31. 

Application for a Beer, Wine and Liquor License:

Class:	   E  WATER VESSEL CLASS - 	$150.00 license fee

  F  RAILROAD CLASS -	 $200.00 license fee

  G  AIRPLANE CLASS -	 $200.00 license fee

Check one:_   New License	   Renewal of License Number _______________________

Check one:_   Partnership	   Corporation	   Limited Liability Co.	   Individual

Note:	Beer, Wine and Liquor License is only available to boats transporting for hire passengers from 
ports in Maryland to other ports in Maryland or to coastal ports in other states of foreign ports; 
or boats licensed to operate tours within Maryland waterways; to operators of cars on railroads; 
and to operators of airplanes.

* The disclosure of applicant’s Social Security Number is mandatory and will be used for background investigations pursuant to
Section 10-201 of the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages Article.

2. a. Name and trade name (if applicable) of company on whose behalf license is desired:_________________________________

b. Mailing address:_______________________________________________________________________________________
(street address or post office box)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
(city/state, nine digit zip code)

c. Physical location if mailing address is a post office box___________________________________________________________
(street address)

3. Usual physical location where boat is housed (dock, wharf, pier, etc.), if applicable:____________________________________

 _ ____________________________________________________________________________________________________

4. Boat Name (if applicable)__________________________________________________________________________________

5. Phone ______________________ Fax ______________________ E-mail ___________________________________________

6. a. Date business began_ __________________________________________________________________________________

b. Type of accounting period (Calendar Year, Fiscal Year, etc.)_ _______________  Month FY begins_______________________

c. If Corporation or Limited Liability Company - date chartered_ _______________________ State________________________

d. Federal Employer Identification No.________________________________________________________________________
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Check Number___________

Amount  $_ _____________

Deposit Date____________

Approved _______________

Date___________________

License Number__________

Stub Number____________

Date Issued _____________
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7. The name and address of the owner of the boat, plane, or train____________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________
8. The applicant is presently the holder of the following alcoholic beverage licenses or permits issued by Maryland, any other state or

jurisdiction, or the United States government (if more space is needed, attach additional sheet).
Issuing Authority	 Type	 Expiration Date Number

9. The applicant has previously held the following alcoholic beverage licenses or permit:__________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

10. The applicant has applications pending for the following alcoholic beverage licenses or permits:__________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

11. Please answer each of the following questions: (attach explanation if “Yes” to “*” questions)
	*A.	 Has any applicant ever been convicted of a felony by any State or Federal Court?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                   YES NO

	*B.	 Has any applicant ever been convicted of a violation of the laws of the United States, Maryland or any .
other state concerning alcoholic beverages, gaming or gambling?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                              YES NO

	*C.	 Has any applicant ever been denied or had revoked an alcoholic beverage license or permit?. . . . . . . . .           YES NO

	*D.	 Do any of the applicants or their immediate families have an interest in a Maryland wholesale or retail .
alcoholic beverage license, either issued or applied for?. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                                     YES NO

E. Do the applicants agree to conform to all the laws, rules, and regulations of the state of Maryland
relating to the business in which they propose to engage under this license? . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .                      YES NO

F. The applicants submit herewith a statement duly executed and acknowledged by the company on
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 



                 YES NO

12. The Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages Article, Section 1-404 titled “Compliance with Workers’ Compensation
Act” requires the evidence of such compliance prior to the issuance of any license by this office. The applicant hereby affirms

(complete one):

(a) the applicant is not an employer required to provide coverage by the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Law; or,

(b) the applicant is an employer required to provide employee coverage by the Maryland Workers’ Compensation Law and
has secured such coverage. As evidence of such coverage, the following is submitted:

1. Name of Insurance Company:_______________________________________________

2. Policy or Binder Number:___________________________________________________

13. The license for which this application is made is to be for the year beginning May 1, _______ . Fee for license applied for above is

$ ___________. If new application, do not remit license fee with application; if renewal application, remit fee with your application.

AFFIDAVIT
I do solemnly declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that the contents of the foregoing document are true and correct to 
the best of my knowledge, information, and belief.

  Signature of applicant       Date

  Signature of applicant       Date

  Signature of applicant       Date
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Third Party Checks 

Affidavit

I do solemnly declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that the contents below are true and correct to the 
best of my knowledge, and that I am authorized and empowered to issue a check and make payment for the license/
permit fee on behalf of the applicant.

Name of Corporation; Partners of Partnership; or Individual (include Trade Name)

Complete Mailing Address

Signature of Owner, Partner or Corporate Officer	 Title

Date

14. Statement of company required in connection with the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages Article.

I HEREBY  CERTIFY, That I am the owner of (name of water vessel, airplane, or railroad)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

named in the application made by  __________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________ to

the Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, & Cannabis Commission under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Alcoholic Beverages Article for the class license

indicated, expiring April 30,_________; and that I assent to the granting of the license applied for, and that I hereby authorize

the Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission, its duly authorized deputies, inspectors and clerks to inspect and

search, without warrant any and all airplanes, cars, or boats to which such license applies, at any and all hours, provided no such

inspection or search shall be made at such time or in such manner as to delay or interfere with the movement of any airplane,

train, or boat.
Affidavit

I do solemnly declare and affirm under the penalties of perjury that the contents of the foregoing document are true 
and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.

Signature	 Type or print name

Title	   Date

Federal Identification Number and/or Social Security Number 

Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, 
and Cannabis Commission 
Regulatory and Research Section 
1215 E Fort Ave, Ste 300 
Baltimore, MD 21230 

410-260-7314
atcc.licensing@maryland.gov
atcc.maryland.gov
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Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco and Cannabis Commission 
Regulatory and Research Section 

Checklist for Water Vessel Beer, Wine and Liquor License Application

_____   Application Form 369 

_____   Occupation Record & Financial Statement Form 367-3 for each applicant:  

_____   Copy of Articles of Incorporation or Articles of Organization with any minutes,  
Resolution or Operating Agreement necessary to establish individuals as 
officers/members. 

_____   Summary of proposed business activities. 

_____   Anticipated source of alcoholic beverages. 

_____   Intended storage site. 

_____   Copy of most recent financial statement. 

_____   Copy of your Sales & Use Tax License issued by the Comptroller of Maryland 

_____   Copy of Coast Guard Certification. 

Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco,      
and Cannabis Commission  

Regulatory and Research Section 
1215 E Fort Ave, Ste 300 Baltimore, 

Maryland 21230

410-260-7314
atcc.licensing@maryland.gov 

atcc.maryland.gov

Rev. 08/23
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Water Vessel Alcoholic Beverage License Information 

The Maryland Alcohol, Tobacco, and Cannabis Commission's  Regulatory and Research Section issues a Class 
“E” beer, wine, and liquor Water Vessel License for an annual fee of $150.00 for on-vessel consumption. 

Licenses are issued to individuals for the use of a corporation, LLC, etc. 

Licensing process entails the submission of certain personal and business information to the Section and an 
inspection of the vessel. 

Licenses are renewed May 1st of each year. 

Alcohol may be served to paying passengers who are part of bona fide regularly scheduled or chartered tour while 
the vessel is made fast to a wharf, pier, piling, etc. (in the absence of a local law to the contrary) or is underway. 

A Water Vessel Licensee may not sell or serve alcoholic beverages to the public at large or to any person who is not 
a bona fide paying passenger. Certain exceptions apply with respect to product that is served while a vessel is tied to 
a wharf or pier. These exceptions are as follows: 

1. Alcohol may be served to employees and guests of the licensee (providing no consideration is given) while
the vessel is tied to a wharf or pier. This would include a private party for personal friends and guests of the
licensee, invited guests where the vessel is used as a showcase for the owners and agents soliciting new
business and as a “thank you” to industry partner groups for their continued support, when the vessel is not
otherwise being used for commercial purposes.

2. Alcohol may also be served to invited guests that may be participating in an officially sanctioned
promotional activity arranged by a bona fide government tourism bureau.

3. A licensee may not perform as a hospitality vessel during special events or at other times in exchange for
“promotional consideration”. Any consideration given would enable participants to consume alcoholic
beverages on the vessel only if they were part of a chartered tour where the vessel leaves the wharf or pier
for a bona fide tour of the waterways.

Licensees may elect to purchase alcohol tax-paid from either a Maryland wholesaler or retailer and obtain a waiver 
from the requirement to file monthly tax returns. 

Storage of alcohol is restricted to the licensed water vessel. Individual Storage Permits are required for any other 
location. 

Hours of sale are the same as for a Class “B” Restaurant License for the jurisdiction in which the licensee is 
operating. 

Minimum age for servers is 18. 

Minimum age for consumers is 21. 

Alcohol awareness training is not mandatory for water vessel licensees. 

Passengers are not permitted to provide their own alcohol for use on a tour or charter once the vessel is licensed. All 
alcohol must be provided by the licensee (no corkage fees). 

All water vessel operations selling alcoholic beverages are required to pay a Special Occupational Tax and obtain 
a Special Tax Stamp from the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) before commencing business. 
This special tax stamp is a receipt for payment of the Special Occupational Tax as a retailer dealer. Licensees 
should call the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau in Cincinnati, Ohio at 1-800-398-2282 to 
obtain additional information concerning the Special Occupational Tax Stamp. A separate tax stamp is required for 
each water vessel. 

Questions regarding alcoholic beverage Water Vessel licensing can be directed to the Regulatory and Research 
Section at 410-260-7314. 
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